Crisis on Infinite Earths was a twelve-issue limited series written by Marv Wolfman and pencilled by George Pérez. It was a seminal event for DC Comics which effectively negated the previous continuity supplied during the publishing eras known as the Golden Age, Silver Age and Bronze Age of comics. The series featured virtually every known character in the DC Universe and culminated in the deaths of several key characters including Wonder Woman and Supergirl. In 2006, a sequel series entitled Infinite Crisis illustrated the ramifications wrought by the events chronicled in the original Crisis series.