The Justice League of America, also known as the Justice League or JLA, was conceived by writer Gardner Fox and first appeared in The Brave and the Bold #28 before featuring in their own title a few months later.

The team was made up of a group of different “headline” super heroes who decide to join together as the Justice League. The seven original members were Batman, Aquaman, the Flash, Green Lantern, Martian Manhunter, Superman, and of course Wonder Woman, but over the years the team roster has rotated several times, featuring different heroes from the DC Universe. there were even a few periods when the “Big 7” – as they are often referred to – did not even feature in the title.